Swim Bike Run

It's in everyone

600+ Athletes to Race at Rockingham Foreshore Triathlon

600+ Athletes to Race at Rockingham Foreshore Triathlon

Date: 02 Feb 2023
Posted: 1 year ago

Bring your sun protection and filled water bottles folks! It’ll be a scorching 30+ degrees Celsius this Sunday 5 February 2023 for the Rockingham Foreshore Triathlon; a State Series race and our State Sprint Championships for the 2022/23 season. But it’s not just the sunshine creating the heat down at Bell Park; there’s an INCREDIBLE lineup of athletes set to hit the course.

More than 600 athletes, from beginners to elite, will be taking on the challenge. In 2023, the Rockingham Foreshore Triathlon will see the Fremantle Ports Enticer, Fremantle Ports Sprint, and SunSmart Kids Triathlon take place, rounded out by our Scody Draft Legal Sprint.

Scody Draft Legal Sprint

The field for the Scody Draft Legal Sprint is epic, with 18 Open athletes and 15 of our 16-19 Juniors putting the pedal to the metal. It’ll be a race to stick around for!

The Open field includes current TOTY Champs and 2022 Foreshore Tri winners Aleisha Wesley (North Coast) and Zeke Tinley (Bunbury), plus young-guns Kurt Wesley (North Coast), Reece Harris (Mandurah), James Kjellgren-Lewis (Fremantle), Sam Mileham (Fremantle), Rowan Kerr (XTR), Rhianna Hepburn (UWA) , Herlene Yu (Fremantle), Sian Munks (UWA), Indie Arbuckle (XTR) and Madi Toovey (North Coast). Some of WA’s best including Guy Crawford (Fremantle), James Martin (Mandurah) and Paul McKay (ADF) are also vying for the top spot.

They’ll be competing with some of our top 16-19 Juniors too, including lightning fast athletes Josh Neervoort (Fremantle), Josh Fletcher (Exceed), Ivan Nagel (EFS), Jett Sultana (North Coast), Daniel Stewart (EFS), Daniel Buis (North Coast), Josh Pedlow (Exceed), Connor Richards (North Coast), Eric Aspeling (Mandurah), Jacob Palmer (Exceed), Ryan McPherson (North Coast), Erin Driscoll (North Coast), Christophe Gardner (Bunbury), Will Holden (North Coast), and Bridie Crew (North Coast).

Fremantle Ports Sprint

The Age Group field is also extremely strong with some pretty quick TOTY contenders racing for the State Crown. We’ll have almost the entire current 20-24 TOTY list racing for points, including Ella Phelan (Stadium), Lauren Nash (XTR), Jaxon Bilchuris (North Coast), Chad McKay (Mandurah) and Freo clubmates Michael Orton and Andrew Flint. It’ll be neck and neck at the finish line!

We’ll also have 2021/22 Season TOTY Age Group winners including Melanie Wade (Stadium), Emma Moon (Phoenix), Andrew Malatios (North Coast), Rebecca Lewis (Exceed), Bart Hollemans (Oceanic), Matt McKay (Mandurah), Emma Leonard (North Coast), Lucky Phil Monks (North Coast), Barry Silverlock (North Coast), Trish Vickery (Busselton) and Jenny Owen (EFS) taking on the course – so we’re in for some awesome racing across the board!

The Brynt McSwain Trophy

Continuing a long standing tradition, the Brynt McSwain Trophy will once again be awarded to the fastest male triathlete at the Triathlon WA State Sprint Championships. Past winners include the likes of Ryan Bailie, Luke Bate, and Jonney Sammut.

Brynt McSwain was a Triathlon WA member and previous State Champion who tragically lost his life in 2014. The trophy named in his honour will be presented at the Rockingham Foreshore Triathlon by Brynt’s mother Snow, and proudly displayed year-round at Churchill Cycles in Booragoon where Brynt worked.

Slip Slop Slap, Seek, Slide & Stay Hydrated!

It’s going to be HOT this Sunday, so please make sure you’re being SunSmart as much as possible, drinking plenty of water and keeping yourself cool. The UV will be high, so wear your sunglasses, hat, long sleeved shirt and sunscreen wherever possible. Seek shade where you can and make sure to bring a few FILLED bottles of water. We’ll also have a water station where you can refill as needed. You can also pop into the water for a quick dip to cool off if needed! Just avoid the swim course area.

Learn more about being SunSmart here: www.sunsmart.com.au

With thanks to our Event Sponsors: