Swim Bike Run

It's in everyone

Busselton Festival of Triathlon Wins at WA Sport Awards

Busselton Festival of Triathlon Wins at WA Sport Awards

Date: 05 Mar 2024
Posted: 4 months ago

Triathlon WA are so excited and humbled to share that the 2023 SunSmart Busselton Festival of Triathlon won the inaugural Community Sporting Event of the Year award at the WA Sport Awards hosted by SportWest on Thursday 29 February 2024!

The Community Sporting Event of the Year award recognises an outstanding sporting festival, event or exhibition that has been delivered successfully in WA, with benefits to the athletes, the sport, and the local community.

It was a really brilliant selection of nominees in our category, so we are stoked to have won. Congratulations to our fellow finalists Bike it to Ballidu Gravel (Cycling), and the Harmony Cup Nines (Rugby League).

We’d like to thank all athletes, volunteers, officials, staff members, supporters, expo retailers, food vendors, charity partners, and everyone else who contributed to the success of the SunSmart Busselton Festival of Triathlon last season.

Thank you to our major partners, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries,Healthway and SunSmart, Tourism Western Australia and City of Busselton. We also sincerely thank our 2023 event partners EventMatrix, KC Australia, Blue Chip Timing, Koda Nutrition, Hit FM, KDK Family Law, Keep on Running, SCODY, The Margaret River Region, Woolworths Busselton, Ludlow Tuart Forest Restoration Group, Cancer Council Western Australia, MiTIME, Clip Media, Outside the Locker Room , FinisherPix, and World Triathlon.

It was so wonderful to celebrate the achievements of the WA sporting community.

Other Award Nominees from our Triathlon WA community included:

  • Steve Gleeson: Coach of the Year Nominee
  • Gaye McKean: Official of the Year Nominee
  • David Budge: Service to Sport Nominee
  • Nick Thompson: Sports Star Nominee
  • Sally Pilbeam: Sports Star Nominee

Thank you to SportWest (and HBF Stadium / VenuesWest) for hosting such a wonderful event, and congratulations to all winners!