Triathlon WA News

Triathlon WA Annual Awards wrap up - blog post image

Triathlon WA Annual Awards wrap up

  • Triathlon WA
  • 01 Jul 2019
  • Posted 2 years ago

The 2018/2019 Triathlete of the Year were crowned on Saturday 25 May as we celebrated the end of the season at the Triathlon WA Annual Awards Breakfast in front of a crowd of over 200 friends, family and fellow athletes at the Astral Ballroom at Crown. 

It was another great year of performances by WA athletes both in the junior and open/age group ranks.  Greg Salter was the only WA world champion, winning the 65-69 Aquathlon in Fyn, Denmark. With the National Long Course Championships at SunSmart IRONMAN 70.3 Busselton, the list of national champions was extensive, with 19 National Long Course Champions.  There were another 3 national champions across other disciplines/distances including Rhianna Hepburn in the Youth A, Rahul Jegatheva in the 16-19 Aquathlon and David Bryant in Para Tri Sprint.  To see the full list, click here.

In the Junior Development Program 2018/19 season was a consolidation season, as many of our previous gold medal winners moved categories resulting in them competing against athletes up to 3 years older, stronger and more experienced.  This meant, however, other athletes were elevated within their divisions, giving some great results and numerous podiums positions throughout the Australian Youth and Junior Series.  West Australian Talent Pathway athletes competed at each round of the National Series which moved between Runaway Bay, Canberra and Devonport, with Gold Coast and Moreton Bay included for the Under 23.  The Devonport race was also the National Championships and Oceania Championships for Youth, Juniors and Under 23 and we had 26 WA athletes flying the flag.  It was a highlight for WA with Rhianna Hepburn taking the Youth A Championship, 3 of our athletes in the top 5 and WA taking silver in the Youth A mixed relay. Madison Toovey took silver in the Youth A Australian Triathlon Series.  Our WA school sports team also did well winning 2 gold, a silver and a bronze in the individual events and two team relay silver resulting in 3rd overall.  Madison Toovey was awarded the 2019 Development Athlete of the Year after a strong, consistent year on the National stage.

The success of our junior program was also reflected in the Coach of the Year, which was awarded to Janine Kaye from North Coast Triathlon Club.  Janine coaches Madison and it a touching moment to see Madison present Janine with her award.  As well as coaching Madison and running the junior program at North Coast, she also coaches with GK Endurance.

In the Technical Program one person was recognised for 5 years of service, Jessica Murdoch, and 2 for 10 years of service, John Janssen and Shane Burnett.  Matt Roddis won the Steve Barrie award in recognition for his service and dedication over the year.

In the Club awards, UWA took out the Club Event Series again this year with another concerted effort, having athletes at most of the events this year. Champion Club was awarded to Exceed Triathlon Club, who had over a quarter of their members accrue points across the season showing they are a strong, high performing club.

In the Individual Performance of the Year Award, Sally Pilbeam and David Bryant were recognised for their performance at the ITU Paratriathlon World Cup in Devonport.  Sally taking gold in the PTS4 category while David took gold in the PTS5 category.

The morning was rounded out with the Triathlete of the Year Award with two new names being added to the trophy this year. Olivia Smith was awarded Female Triathlete of the Year while Matt Burton was named Male Triathlete of the Year from Blake Kappler in second and Brendan Dimmer in third.  For a full listing of Open, Age Group and Junior winners, click here.

2019 Award Winners

  • Development Program Athlete of the Year – Madison Toovey
  • Coach of the Year – Janine Kaye
  • Club Event Series Winner - UWA Triathlon Club
  • Champion Club – Exceed Triathlon Club
  • Female Individual Performance of the Year – Sally Pilbeam
  • Male Individual Performance of the Year – David Bryant
  • Steve Barrie Award – Matt Roddis
  • Technical Official Service to Sport
    • 5 Years – Jessica Murdoch
    • 10 Years – John Janssen, Shane Burnett