Triathlon WA News

Smith and McCoy win State Duathlon Championships - blog post image

Smith and McCoy win State Duathlon Championships

  • Triathlon WA
  • 06 Oct 2020
  • Posted 6 months ago

A sunny calm morning met the 186 athletes that took to the first State Series event for the Triathlon WA Season. The EXSS Duathlon, which doubled as the State Duathlon Championships for Senior and Open athletes, was finally here to kick off the season.

The event, which catered for long course, short course and a SunSmart Kids Triathlon saw over 200 people descend on Champion Lakes Regatta Centre on Sunday Morning.

The SunSmart Kids Duathlon started the morning off with the under 12s participants full of energy and ready run, bike, run along the course.

The Open Long Course athletes were the first wave of the Long Course to take on the 5km run, 20km bike and 2.5km run. 2019 State Duathlon Champion and Triathlete of the Year, Nick Thompson, toed the start line ahead of a strong male field consisting of: Junior Duathlon World Champion Matt Smith, 2019 State Sprint Champion Jonney Sammut and veteran IRONMAN professional Guy Crawford.

As the starters gun went off, the racing was on. Smith led the field into T1 with a blistering 5km run of 15:13, with a handy 30 second lead ahead of Sammut and Thompson. What started as a calm morning at Champion Lakes, saw the wind slightly increase each lap just to test out all the athlete’s strength in the first race back of the new season.

Zeke Tinley showed his strong biking skills hitting the dismount line in the lead. It was going to be a fight to hold off Smith, and he took the challenge head on with a smooth transition to the final run. Sammut and Thompson were still battling it out for third place, with Crawford (and the fastest bike in the open field) on the heels of the youngsters.

Smith proved his class over the duathlon format taking out the State Duathlon Championships for 2020 in a time of 55:25, just three seconds ahead of Tinley and Thompson a further 8 seconds back to round out the podium.

The women’s open field saw IRONMAN professional Kate Bevilaqua alongside our Junior and upcoming athletes including the 2019/20 Triathlete of the Year, Maddie Toovey. Rhianna Hepburn returned to racing after a year off and led the women into T1, with Bevilaqua on her shoulder. A slick transition saw Hepburn pull away from the field, but Bevilaqua joined by Toovey, Brooke Mccoy and Aleisha Wesley.

Mccoy dominated the bike leg, out biking the rest of the women’s field by 50 seconds, giving her a slight advantage coming back into T2 ahead of Hepburn. The lead was enough for her to hold on for the win and taking the State Championship Crown for 2020. Hepburn finishing less than a minute behind to claim silver and Bevilaqua rounding out the podium a further 50 seconds back.

The Senior age group athletes (20+) were also vying for State Championship Status. Mark Oakshott (40-44) male had the fastest age group time with an impressive 55:20, less than 3minutes back on the overall winner. Shayne Dimmer (35-39) showed his strength on the bike with a 31.22 taking the title in his age group.

Katherine Ryan (50-54) showed her class with the fastest age group female time of the day. Closely followed behind by Alexandrea Meek (35-39) and 25-29-year-old Elyse Lambert.

The Para category saw Nige Young and Dennis Devereaux friendly rivalry once again. Devereaux narrowly lead coming out of T1, and unfortunately for Young, some equipment issues meant he had to pull out of the race. Devereaux continued on and took the State Title.

The Junior State Series saw the 16-19 year old’s tackle the long course event, with Tommaso Puccini posting some very impressive run times across the 5km and 2.5km legs. Indi Arbuckle showed her strength over the distance taking the win and securing some early season points.

The 12-13 and 14-15 aged athletes had the short course event as their junior points race. Josh Neervoort was the fastest out on course overall and took the win in the 14-15 years. Emily White took the win in a close finish with Bridie Crew.

Luke Bourke finished first in the 12-13 years, showing his strength on both runs. Rebecca Puccini, following in her brother’s footsteps, also took the first place in the Junior Series.

Congratulations to all athletes who took part in the event. It was fantastic to see the energy of all involved, excited to be back racing.


Age Group

Female State Champion

Male State Champion



Aidan Clark

Mandurah Triathlon Club


Elyse Lambert

Ben Stone

Mandurah Triathlon Club

Oceanic Triathlon Club


Michelle Carranza

Loic Draoulec

Fremantle Triathlon Club

Stadium Triathlon Club


Alexandra Meek

Shayne Dimmer

UWA Triathlon Club

Rockingham Triathlon Club


Rebecca Lewis

Mark Oakshott

Exceed Triathlon Club


Cath Spencer

Bradley Wardrope

Fremantle Triathlon Club

Mandurah Triathlon Club


Katherine Ryan

Darren Powell

Stadium Triathlon Club

Exceed Triathlon Club


Jane Hardy

Andrew Johns

Busselton Triathlon Club

Bunbury Triathlon Club


Robyn Scott

Steve Ware

North Coast Triathlon Club

Rockingham Triathlon Club


Sandy Tindale

George Funk

North Coast Triathlon Club

North Coast Triathlon Club



Robert McLoughlan

Bunbury Triathlon Club


Brooke McCoy

Matt Smith

Fremantle Triathlon Club

Fremantle Triathlon Club



Dennis Devereaux

Bunbury Triathlon Club