Triathlon WA News

Mother Nature turns it on for State Sprint Championships - blog post image

Mother Nature turns it on for State Sprint Championships

  • Triathlon WA
  • 20 Dec 2017
  • Posted 3 years ago


Last weekend saw the State Sprint Championship decided as part of the SunSmart Triathlon Series City of Joondalup Race, hosted by TriEvents.
Nature was not kind on the morning, with high winds and rough seas causing the race to be changed to a duathlon - 2.5km run/20km bike/5km.  Over 700 athletes took up the challenge battling strong cross winds on the bike and mini sandstorms on the run.

The challenging conditions didn't stop some high speed racing, particularly in the Men's Open field, with some amazing performances.  Canadian Mike Lori took out the first run leg by a mere second from Liam McCoach, then closely followed by Jonney Sammut and Oli Stenning.  It didn't take long for Sammut then Stenning to overtake Lori and McCoach. Sammut and Stenning came in to T2 together and header out onto the run where, Sammut quickly pulled ahead.  Lori came into T2 over 30 seconds down on the leaders but had chased them down by the turnaround, holding onto the lead on the final 2.5km to take the championship by just over 10sec from Sammut.  After coming into T2 almost 2 minutes down, McCoach had the fastest 5km run split of the day to take third, with Stenning holding on for fourth and Simon Bileau in fifth.

In the women's race, Kirby Diaz, Katey Gibb and up and coming junior, Liv Smith, fought it out over the first 2.5km, to head out onto the bike together.  Gibb and Smith drew away from Diaz.  Smith, who was showing exceptional form, worked hard to stay with Gibb, but Katey eventually pulled away to come into T2 thirty seconds up on Smith with Diaz, Wales and Farrell over a minute further back.  Gibb maintained her lead over the 5km run to take the championship from a fast closing Diaz.  Farrell, Rachael Wales and Aleisha Wesley rounded out the top 5 in the Open field.  Smith came in third overall and easily took out the 16-19 category.  A number of Age Group winners also came in the top 10 overall including Christina Ladyman (5th overall, 1st 35-39yo), Katherine Ryan (6th overall, 1st 45-49yo), Poppy Coldicott (9th overall, 1st 25-29yo) Anna Brinkamp (10th overall, 1st 30-34yo), showing the depth of talent in the age group athletes.

Full list of Open winners:


  1. Michael Lori - Break Your Limits
  2. Jonney Sammut - Break Your Limits
  3. Liam McCoach - Break Your Limits
  4. Oli Stenning - Fremantle
  5. Simon Bileau - Stadium
  1. Katey Gibb - Exceed
  2. Kirby Diaz - Break Your Limits
  3. Rosie Farrell - Exceed
  4. Rachael Wales - North Coast
  5. Aleiasha Wesley - North Coast